Cartwright wins election

The 2003 Sammy Awards Ceremony was held last night in the Lowman Student Center Ballroom, and many students, organizations, and faculty members were recognized for their achievements throughout the year.

The new officers for SGA were announced first, and Angie Cartwright was named president. In reaction to this, Cartwright said, “I am very excited about being the new SGA president, and I am ready to serve the student body. I also want to thank all of the students who voted for me.”

Her opponent Jason Plotkin said he will continue to serve the student body through SGA even though he was not named president.

“A position means nothing if the person in the position does not act upon what their position allows them to accomplish,” Plotkin said. “I may not be the student body president, but I can assure you that I will continue to voice the concerns of the students.” Former SGA president Helena L. Banks said, “This position has been great, but it’s given me a few gray hairs. It’s time to hand over the spotlight.”

Other new officers named last night include Angela Lopez, secretary, Christina Blair, treasurer, and Betsy Dominguez, vice president.

Carlton Green, assistant director of Student Activities at SHSU, said, “The Sammy Awards are for students and faculty that have gone above and beyond the call of duty.” The first Sammy Award went to Gaurave Dalal, an Indian international student that has been involved in making other international students feel welcome on the Sam Houston State campus. Resident Manager Andy Di Mambro received a Sammy Award for volunteering at the Catholic Student Center and helping to found the Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity.

The next Sammy Award went to Megan Thomas, president of the Golden Key Honor Society. She has also been involved in Sigma Tau Delta, STARS, and volunteering in the community.

Brian Vandelist, another Sammy Award Recipient, is the Ag Council president and volunteers in community service projects. LeeNeete Wilke, a non-traditional student, is involved in serving international students on the Sam Houston State campus. She organized the International Coffee Hour, and helps international students with transportation to the airport and to Houston for field trips. She works alongside Brenda Boeske, who also received a Sammy Award. Boeske also serves the international students on campus, providing transportation and other services.

Nikki Drumgoole, another Sammy Award recipient, has been involved with numerous organizations on campus, including NAACP, Black Student Alliance and Orange Keys. She also makes Easter baskets for the less fortunate.

Shannon Sosa, a resident assistant and volunteer in the Huntsville community, also received a Sammy Award. April Stephens, another Sammy Award recipient, is also involved in Residence Halls Association, works a full-time job, and takes a full load of classes. Rachel Young also received a Sammy Award, and she is an active member of Alpha Delta Phi. She is also involved in the Pahnellenic Society. She is also involved in Program Council as a program chair.

Dr. Doug Ulrich received a Sammy Award for his dedication and availability to students of all majors. Dr. Kay Raymond, a Spanish professor at Sam Houston State for over 10 years, has been known to come to school early and stay late for students that need extra help or rides. She received a Sammy Award for her dedication.

James Harding, a Sammy Award recipient, has served SHSU for over 15 years helping with electrical problems on campus and through various other forms of service.

Aside from the Sammy Awards, the “Outstanding Awards” were also presented to students and organizations that have made an impact on SHSU.

The Outstanding First-Year Student Award went to Christi Byerly. Byerly has been involved with Alpha Chi Omega, and she was also responsible for two major service projects within the SAAFEHOUSE.

The next award was the Outstanding New Student Organization Award, and this went to the Interested Ladies of Lambda Alpha Theta Latin Society. They coordinated the “Thanksgiving Day Can Drive” and have also worked to make an impact in other student groups.

The “Publicity Plus” award went to the Program Council for making fliers, T-shirts, posters, and banners, as well as painting the Barnes & Noble’s Bookstore windows to promote events.

The Oustanding Sophomore Student Leader Award went to Jason Plotkin, Cartwright’s opponent in the SGA presidency election. Plotkin served as the SGA secretary, and is also the founder of Hillel, a new Jewish organization on the Sam Houston State campus.

The Phi Alpha Delta Pre-Law Fraternity won the Outstanding Special Interest Organization Award, Sigma Lambda Beta won the Outstanding Community Service Project Award, the Outstanding Community Service Organization Award went to Omega Delta Phi., and Women United won the Crazed Community Service Award.

The Oustanding Junior Student Leader Award went to Matt Miller, who has been involved with the Residence Halls Association and is a writing consultant for the SHSU Writing Center.

The Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Leader Award was awarded to Carolyn Petzolt, who is a wife, full-time mother, and actively involved at Sam Houston State University with many organizations. The Outstanding Honorary Organization was awarded to the Golden Key International Honor Society.

The Outstanding Student Organization Advisor award was given to Amy Swingle, assistant director of Recreational Sports at SHSU. The Outstanding Social Fraternity award was given to Alpha Tau Omega, and the Outstanding Social Sorority Award was given to Alpha Chi Omega. The Party People Award was given to Delta Sigma Theta and The Talented Tenth.

Soul Lifters Gospel Choir was awarded with the Oustanding Religious Organization, and the Outstanding Cultural Organization award was given to the NAACP. The Fun and Funky Fundraising Award was given to the National Residence Hall Honorary, an organization that delivers a cake and balloons to students on their birthdays.

The Outstanding Student Organization Award went to the Ag Council, who participate in cattle auctions at rodeos and spend time working with children in the Huntsville community.

The Creager Memorial Award, an award set aside for male seniors that have made significant contributions to Sam Houston State, was awarded to Shaun Stoehr, who has contributed to the university through being a resident manager, an Orange Key member, and volunteering at the SAAFE House.

The McDermett Award, set aside for female seniors that have made significant contributions at SHSU, was awarded to Courtney Herron. Herron has been involved in the radio-television department at Sam Houston State and the SAMentors program.

Green announced that he will be leaving his position with SHSU Student Activities to pursue graduate studies.

“It will probably be harder on me when I leave than it will be on the students,” Green said. “I want to thank each of you that I had the privilege to work with.”

Green said he came to Sam Houston State as an undergraduate knowing no one, and that the people he has worked with have become like his family.

“I want all of you to understand how you have impacted my life.”

Leave a Reply