Indoor track and field soars in Houston

Matt Adkisson and Randall Flach finished first and second in the men’s pole vault to highlight action for Sam Houston State in the Bearkats’ opening indoor track and field meet of the 2006 season Saturday at the Houston Indoor Invitational.

Josh Hawkins was the top intercollegiate athlete in the men’s 3,000 meter run with a runner-up time of 8:35.12. Hawkins finished behind former Bearkat Joe Amburn who ran unattached.

Chris Edison place third in the 400 meter dash with a time of 48.68.

The Bearkats’ 4×400 meter relay finished third with a time of 3:19.83.

Kavin Green was eighth in the 800 meters with a 1:57.64 clocking. D. D. Terry (6.36) placed sixth and Tyrone Lee (6.40) ninth in the 55 meter dash. Jonny Tipton was eighth in the shot put (46′ 6.0″) and Christian Ehrenborg placed fourth in the weight throw (52′ 4.5″).

Tenika Powell, Roshunda Betts, and Jennie Sewell highlighted action for the Bearkat women, each with runner-up finishs in the shot put, triple jump, and pole vault. respectively.

Powell threw the shot 44 feet, 11 inches. Betts posted a mark of 38 feet, nine inches in the triple jump.

Sewell, the defending Southland Conference indoor and outdoor pole vault champion who trained this fall in France, vaulted 12′ 5.5″ in her first meet.

SHSU’s women’s distrance medley relay also finished second, posting a time of 13:11.17. Distance runners Sarah Hershman, Erika Wright, and Whitney Rister finished fourth, fifth, and sixth in the 3,000 meter run with respective times of 10:54.53, 10:54.56, and 11:13.87.

The next track meet is scheduled for Jan. 20 in Houston at the Hilton Memorial.

Leave a Reply