Fraternity returns to SHSU after a four-year suspension

The Theta Mu chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity Inc. is back on campus after being put on probation in 2002.

On Wednesday, April 12, seven members were inducted into Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity Inc. at Sam Houston State University. For the past four years, no intake process was available for the fraternity.

Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity Inc. has many goals and upcoming programs for the campus of Sam Houston State University.

“Alpha’s bring something that no other organization can bring,” said new member Jeffery Oribhabor. “We are looking to bring social activities, charitable donations and reestablish the presence of Alpha Phi Alpha.”

The suspension has since been uplifted and the new members of Alpha Phi Alpha and according to members, a new meaning of brotherhood has come into play.

“Brotherhood is not something you can put in your hand, but it is someone to talk to, a tight bond, and someone to listen to you even if they don’t want to,” said Oribhabor.

Alpha Phi Alpha, the first intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for African-Americans, was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York.

The founders, known as the “Jewels” of the Fraternity, are Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle, and Vertner Woodson Tandy.

Famous fraternity members include W.E.B. DuBois, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., Edward Brooke, Martin Luther King, Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Andrew Young, and William Gray.

Leave a Reply