Governor appoints SHSU student to regents

Gov. Rick Perry recently named SHSU economics and international business major Magdalena Manzano as the second student ever to be appointed to the Texas State University System’s Board of Regents.

The senior, who was appointed to the position on Jan. 31, will serve a one-year term, until Feb. 1, 2008.

“To serve in this capacity for next year is a great honor and privilege,” Manzano said. “I am honored not only to represent the students of Sam Houston State University, but the entire student population of the Texas State University System.

“I look forward to learning as much as possible from this experience,” she said.

As a Student Regent, Manzano will have the same powers and duties as the other members of the Board of Regents, with the exception of voting and being counted to determine a quorum.

“I believe having the position of Student Regent brings with it great responsibility to represent the concerns of university students in our state,” she said. “I believe this is a once in a lifetime opportunity, and I intend to take this responsibility seriously.”

Manzano was selected for the position by Perry after a lengthy process, which included filling out an application, being interviewed by Vice President for Student Services Frank Parker and university President Jim Gaertner and being selected as a finalist by TSUS Chancellor Charles Matthews.

Upon graduating from SHSU, Manzano said she intends to pursue a master’s degree in international affairs through the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University.

Nine students total were named to his/her state, public university’s governing boards this week, replacing counterparts who have served for the past year.

Other new student regents include Randal Matthew Camarillo, named to the University of Texas System Board of Regents; Ebtesam Attaya Islam, to the Texas Tech System board; Christopher Sharpe, to the University of Houston’s board; Diana Schulz, to the University of North Texas System’s board; Christianne Kellett, to Texas Woman’s University board; Jason York, to Midwestern State University’s board; Stephanie Tracy, to Stephen F. Austin State University’s board; and Cassidy Ann Daniel, to the Texas A&M System’s board.

Leave a Reply