Sam Houston St. golf team earns fourth title of the 2006-2007 season

MISSOURI CITY (SID) – Led by Scooter Jefferson who placed fourth in the individual medalist competition, the Sam Houston State University men’s golf team won its fourth intercollegiate golf tournament of the 2006-07 season in the Bearkats’ first spring semester competition, taking the title at the Rice Intercollegiate at Willow Wisp Country Club.

The Bearkats shot a team total 296-310-294–900 to defeat runner up Southeastern Louisiana by five strokes. Cal Poly was third (908), followed by Pacific (909), College of Charleston (916), and Rice (918) in the 13-team tournament.

Jefferson’s three-round individual score was 75-74-71–220. Aaron O’Callaghan of Southeastern Louisiana and Harrison Moore of Charle ton tied for medalist honors both with 217 totals.

The last time Sam Houston State men’s golf team won four tournament championships in one season was in 1994 when the Bearkats were Southland Conference champions

Leave a Reply