The Houstonian’ racks up awards

The Houstonian publication and staff was recognized at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention this passed weekend, winning 15 awards for previously published material in a number of categories.

Former Editor-in-Chief and graduating senior, Shawn Farrell, won first place in Front Page Design, Feature Page Design and earned an Honorable Mention in Front Page Design for a second submission and another Honorable Mention in Single-Subject Presentation.

Judges comments on one of his submissions include, “Easily the best design in this group.”

Viewpoints Editor and former Senior Reporter, Rachael Gleason, won a total of four awards at the competition. She won 3rd place for her news coverage of the Rachel Pendray incident, 2nd place for a Feature Story, 2nd place for a News Feature Story and 1st place for In-Depth Reporting.

Senior Reporter Linda Wollard, Copy Editors Courtney and Kristen Lundgren and Staff Reporter Amy Megill also won 1st place in In-Depth Reporting for their coverage of the Pendray tragedy.

Wollard earned an Honorable Mention for a Feature Story of hers as well.

Associate Editor Kristin Edwards, who also served as Viewpoints Editor and Entertainment Editor in past semesters, won 3rd place in Critical Review for a review of Blue October’s new album.

Jamaal Bachelor, frequent Guest Columnist for The Houstonian, won 3rd place in the category “General Column,” adding to his list of growing recognitions.

Jack Ivy and Kyla Hedemann, photographers for The Houstonian, also won several awards. Ivy earned an Honorable Mention in the Illustration (nonphoto) category and won 3rd place in Photo Illustration.

Hedemann earned an Honorable Mention in News Photo for her coverage of the renegade log truck last semester.

Production Manager Sally Hofmeister won 1st place in Ad Design for a Don Rafa’s ad she designed.

Shawn Farrell, Kristin Edwards, Kenny Bybee, Christi Laney, Rachael Gleason and faculty advisor Michael Blackman attended the convention, which was held in San Antonio this year.

The annual convention offers on-site competitions, a job fair featuring several statewide publications and an awards banquet for over 30 colleges.

The Houstonian competed in Division 2, with 13 other schools.

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association was established in 1909 at Baylor University and according to the official Web site, it is one of the “oldest collegiate press associations in the nation and has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country.”

Leave a Reply