Five new awards being presented at Sammy Awards

History will be made on Wednesday night during the 13th Annual Sammy Awards. For the first time in its history, five new awards, the Individual College Awards, will be presented to one student at each of the five colleges at SHSU.

The Sammy Awards, given to students and organizations for their leadership and contributions to the community, will be held April 11 in the LSC Ballroom at 6 p.m. The ceremony will include performances from senior Jeremy Holzbach, the SHSU Jazz Ensemble, the SHSU Theatre and Dance departments and the Opera Workshop.

Brandon Cooper, program coordinator for student activities, said the new awards were tailored to recognize outstanding students from each particular college. Cooper said, “This way, we include all the colleges on campus in the Sammy Awards and make the ceremony more comprehensive and campus-wide.”

The nominations for the new individual awards are made strictly by SHSU faculty members. The colleges have each nominated six students except for the College of Criminal Justice, who nominated three, and the College of Arts and Sciences, who nominated four. To be nominated, a student must maintain at least a 3.0 GPA.

In addition to the new Individual College Awards, the Sammy Awards are separated into two other categories, individual and organizational awards.

The individual awards include Outstanding Student Leader for each grade level, Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Leader and The Sammy Award. The Sammy Award itself is given to approximately four graduating seniors and faculty or staff members for outstanding service to SHSU.

For seniors, two awards are given. The McDermott Memorial Award and the Creager Memorial Award are named for former SHSU Deans who have passed away.

“By the time a student leader becomes a senior, an impressive list of accomplishments has accumulated, so two categories are necessary” Cooper said. “The McDermott Award is for outstanding female senior and the Creager Award is for outstanding male senior.”

The organization awards honor religious, academic and cultural groups, among others. The nominations for these awards, along with the individual awards, are made by the at-large members of the SHSU community.

The Sammy Awards are sponsored by the Department of Student Activities and are free to attend. The ceremony will be hosted by Jared King, SHSU’s Spirit Programs Coordinator, and Jessica Brash, graduating senior and former Zeta Tau Alpha president.

Cooper said, “It is a wonderful opportunity for all to recognize the amazing students that SHSU has to offer.”

Leave a Reply