Sammy Awards sure to excite

Student Activities is hosting the 24th annual Sammys on April 11 in the Gaertner Performing Arts Center’s Payne Concert Hall from 6 to 8 p.m. to recognize exceptional student leaders and organizations.

There are three award categories: individual awards, organizational awards and individual college awards. The nomination period ended Feb. 2, and committee members have selected the winners that will be announced during the ceremony.

In total, there are seven individual college awards that recognize a faculty-nominated student from[TC1] each college, 17 individual and organizational awards nominated from the SHSU community, a Sam Houston Cane Award which may honor a department, entity or campus initiative and the four Sammy Awards presented to four graduating students and faculty/staff members for their contributions.

Winners will receive a trophy for each award, but the recipients of the Sammy Award and Creager and McDermett Memorial Awards will also receive a lifetime membership with the SHSU Alumni Association, courtesy of Student Activities.

Program Coordinator Kelly Patterson, who has been planning the Sammys for five months, discussed what to expect at the Sammys as the entertainment is different each year.

“This year, the Department of Theatre and Musical Theatre will perform a piece from Pippin,” Patterson said. “We are also very excited for Jared Doster and Joel Rivera to perform ‘Umbilic’ on behalf of the School of Dance.  Jared choreographed this piece and he and Joel were selected to represent SHSU and the entire region at the National Conference in Washington D.C. where they have the opportunity to perform at the Kennedy Center.  The ceremony then concludes with a performance by the SHSU Jazz Ensemble directed by Aric Schneller.”

Patterson believes the Sammys have become much more than an awards ceremony.

“I think The Sammys are so important to SHSU because it has become such a rich tradition,” Patterson said. “Students, faculty, and staff view this event as a time to honor one another for outstanding achievements.  Having Dr. Hoyt, the President’s Cabinet and the college deans in attendance to present awards to the winners shows just how much our administration supports the students here at SHSU.”

Patterson expects 800 individuals to attend and is excited for her favorite part of the event.

“I am personally looking forward to seeing the reactions of the winners while they are being honored on the stage,” Patterson said. “You just can’t beat that excitement.”

Tickets are free and may be picked up at 5 p.m. on April 11 in the G.P.A.C. lobby. One ticket is allotted per person. Tickets have assigned seating and seats cannot be held. The dress code is business or evening attire.

Leave a Reply