Houstonian staff wins big in Texas Intercollegiate Press Association awards

Photo courtesy of Leila De La Cruz

The Houstonian staff was named the first place newspaper in the Division 2 category in this year’s Texas Intercollegiate Press Association awards. This accomplishment makes the Houstonian the top Division 2 newspaper in the state. 

Starting in 1909, TIPA has become one of the oldest state collegiate press associations harboring submissions from several universities and colleges around Texas. Since then, TIPA is one of the largest collegiate groups in the country, recognizing student journalists and faculty advisors for their accomplishments.

Along with this win, The Houstonian also won and placed in the following categories:

  • Advertising/PSA/Promo – Audio (Division 2, Division 3, Division 4, Division 5)
    • First place: Voter Registration Promo- Aaron Price
    • Second place: Voter promo for morning DJs- Maya Perez
  • Cartoon Strip/Panel (Division 1, Division 2)
    • First place: Nice Day, Right?- Emily Guerra
    • Third place: Who Needs a Hairdresser?- Emily Guerra
  • Feature Photo (Division 2)
    • Third place: “I Will Survive”- Kate McNamee
  • Feature Reporting – Audio (Division 2, Division 3, Division 4, Division 5)
    • First place: The Benefits of Working From Home- Marco Rodriguez
    • Third place: Disc Golf- Dylan White
  • General News Audio Story (Division 1, Division 2)
    • First place: Being Essential During a Pandemic- Brianna Franks, Maya Perez
    • Honorable Mention: Why the N95 Mask?- Michelle Fitzgerald
  • General News Video Story (Division 2)
    • Third place: Bridge Ministry- Jacob Harris
  • Live Sports Coverage (Division 2, Division 3, Division 4, Division 5)
    • First place: SHSU vs. LeTourneau: MBB – 12/10/2020- Jordan Smith
  • Newspaper (Division 2)
    • First place: Overall Excellence Full Houstonian Newspaper Issues- The Houstonian Staff
  • Photo Illustration (Division 2)
    • First place: Timothy Flanders Graphic- Ashley Defrancis
  • Sportscast – Audio (Division 1, Division 2, Division 3, Division 4, Division 5)
    • Honorable mention: Behind the Mic- Episode 7 – Carlos Zimmermann & Jordan Smith

The Houstonian hopes to continue to better itself and uphold the standards of professional journalism for the next cycle of TIPA awards in 2022. 

Leave a Reply